New Zealand Mathematical Society

Quick search:

Advanced search


The New Zealand Mathematical Society (Inc.) is the representative body of professional mathematicians in New Zealand, and was founded in 1974. Its aims include promotion of research in the mathematical sciences, the development, application and dissemination of mathematical knowledge within New Zealand, and effective cooperation and collaboration between mathematicians and their colleagues in New Zealand and in other countries.

Notices and news

2016 December NZMS Newsletter

Has been released

Hinke Osinga recognised as a Fellow of the Royal Society of NZ

In October 2016 Hinke Osinga became the first female mathematician to be made a Fellow of the Royal Society of NZ for her research in dynamical systems theory. The citation reads: "She is at the forefront of developing and employing numerical methods for computing global objects known as invariant manifolds that are indicators of critical change or 'tipping points'." Press release.

NZMS Awards 2016

  • Aitken Prize.

The Aitken Prize is for the best contributed talk by a student at the Colloquium. The Prize was awarded to Naomi Gendler of the University of Auckland for the talk "Pulse Dynamics of Fibre Lasers with Saturable Absorbers".

Emma Greenbank (VUW), Barak Shani (University of Auckland) and Vee-Liem Saw (University of Otago) received honourable mentions.

  • Early-Career Award.

The Early-Career Award was awarded to Alexander Melnikov (Massey University) for "highly original contributions to the theory of computability in algebra and topology".

  • Research Award.

This was awarded jointly this year to:

David Bryant (University of Otago) for "work developing mathematical, statistical and computational tools for evolutionary biology, and work drawing on evolutionary biology to develop new theories in mathematics".
Bernd Krauskopf (University of Auckland) for "outstanding contributions to dynamical systems, especially bifurcation theory and its application to diverse physical phenomena".
  • Kalman Prize for Best Paper.

The inaugural Kalman Prize for Best Paper was awarded to Gaven Martin (Massey University) for the journal article

T. H. Marshall and G. J. Martin. Minimal co-volume hyperbolic lattices, II: Simple torsion in a Kleinian group. Annals of Mathematics 176 (2012), 261-301.
  • NZMS Fellowships.

Fellowships were awarded to Alona Ben-Tal (Massey Auckland), Alex James (UC), Vivien Kirk (UoA), Bernd Krauskopf (UoA), Carlo Laing (Massey Auckland), Mark McGuinness (VUW) and Hinke Osinga (UoA).

Summary of the Society’s activities


Listing of upcoming conferences.

Promotion of research

Each year the Society awards a Research Award, an Early Career Award, and the Kalman Prize for Best Paper to mark and reward outstanding and innovative mathematical research activity.


The Forder and Aitken Lectureships are a reciprocal exchange between the New Zealand Mathematical Society and the London Mathematical Society featuring noted mathematicians speaking in each others countries on alternate years.

The Maclaurin Lectureship is a new reciprocal exchange between the New Zealand Mathematical Society and American Mathematical Society featuring noted mathematicians to speak in each others countries on alternate years.

The NZMS Visiting Lectureship allows a visiting mathematician to spend two to three days at each of the six main university centres; the Society coordinates and provides some financial assistance for this tour.

Women in Mathematics

The NZMS is committed to actively addressing the issues facing women in mathematics.

Mathematics Education

The NZMS Education Group aims to provide the New Zealand community with independent and hopefully influential commentary on mathematical education issues.


The Newsletter, published three times a year, is the official organ of the Society, and contains news from around the country, featured opinion articles, featured mathematicians, official notices and minutes, and application forms.

The Society also co-publishes the New Zealand Journal of Mathematics.


The Aitken Prize is awarded annually for the best contributed student talk at the NZ Mathematics Colloquium.

Information is maintained of mathematical visitors to New Zealand.

Financial assistance is made available in the form of grants to support the costs of hosting mathematical visitors, organising conferences or workshops, attending conferences, and any other mathematical research-related activity.

Main contact:

New Zealand Mathematical Society
C/- Dr Emily Harvey (NZMS Secretary,
PO Box 331297
Auckland 0740

Quick links

NZMS Colloquium