New Zealand Mathematical Society

Quick search:

Advanced search

Forder Lecturers

1987Christopher ZeemanUniversity of Warwick
1989Sir Michael AtiyahUniversity of Oxford
1991Peter WhittleUniversity of Cambridge
1993Roger PenrosePennsylvania State University
1995Elmer ReesUniversity of Edinburgh
1997Ian StewartUniversity of Warwick
1999Sir Michael BerryUniversity of Bristol
2001Tom KörnerUniversity of Cambridge
2003Caroline SeriesUniversity of Warwick
2005Martin BridsonImperial College London
2008Peter CameronQueen Mary, University of London
2010Ben GreenUniversity of Cambridge
2012Geoffrey GrimmettUniversity of Cambridge
2015Endre SuliUniversity of Oxford
2016Julia GogUniversity of Cambridge

Aitken Lecturers

2011Geoff WhittleVictoria University
2013Robert McLachlanMassey University
2015Steven GalbraithUniversity of Auckland
2017Hinke OsingaUniversity of Auckland

Maclaurin Lecturers

2012Marston ConderUniversity of Auckland (outgoing)
2013Terence TaoUniversity of California, Los Angeles (incoming)
2014James SneydUniversity of Auckland (outgoing)
2015Ingrid DaubechiesDuke University(incoming)
2016Gaven MartinMassey University Albany(outgoing)
2017Ken OnoEmory University(incoming)

Visiting Lecturers

1977Ivor Grattan-GuinnessUniversity of Warwick
1979George AndrewsPennsylvania State University
1980Joe GaniCSIRO
1981Ivar StakgoldHarvard University
1982Graham Read??
1983Trevor Boyle??
1984Hassler WhitneyNational Science Foundation
1985William Luxemburg??
1986Terry SpeedUniversity of California at Berkeley
1987Saunders Mac LaneUniversity of Chicago
1988Lee Peng YeeNational Institute of Education, Singapore
1989Ren B. PottsUniversity of Adelaide
1990David S. MoorePurdue University
1991Douglas BridgesUniversity of Waikato
1992John LoxtonMacquarie University
1993Andreas DressUniversity of Bielefeld
1994Colin MaclachlanUniversity of Aberdeen
1995Roger GrimshawMonash University
1996Valerie IshamUniversity College London
1997Hyam RuninsteinMelbourne University
1998John FauvelOpen University
2000John GuckenheimerCornell University
2002John ButcherUniversity of Auckland
2002Jim GeelenUniversity of Waterloo
2004Bruce RichterUniversity of Waterloo

Colloquium - NZMS Lecturer

1976Ian Stewart“Catastrophe theory”
1977Joe Gani“Early mathematical models in epidemiology and genetics”
1978P. A. Moran“Asymptotic analysis and fixed-point theorems”
1979Wojciech Wojtynski“The present and future of infinite-dimensional Lie groups and Lie algebras”
1980Rob I. Goldblatt“Categories and creative ideas”
1981C. T. C. Wall“Stability of singularities of smooth maps”
1982David B. Gauld“Geometric topology: a small sample”
1984William B. Bonnor“The present state of general relativity”
1985Vaughan F. R. Jones“Hecke algebras, von Neumann algebras, knots and braids”
1988John C. Butcher“Numerical ordinary differential equations and mathematics”
1989Cheryl Praeger“Designs and groups”
1990Gillian Thornley“Differential geometry - connections!”
1991Vaughan F. R. Jones“Knots, braids, statistical mechanics and von Neumann algebras”
1992John Loxton“Numbers in chaos, or a state of sin”
1995Hans Schneider“Aitken’s student: a personal memoir”
1996Mikhail Gromov“Problems in Riemannian geometry”
1997John C. Butcher“An introduction to Padé approximations with an application”
1998Leslie C. Woods“The Tokamak disaster”
1999Jack Dongarra
2000Alf van der Poorten
2001Hyam Rubinstein“Algorithms for surfaces in 3-dimensional manifolds”
2004Rod Gover“Differential geometry, twistor theory and mathematical physics”
2005Eamonn O’Brien“Algorithmic approaches to the study of linear groups”
2006Robert McLachlan“Geodesics everywhere”
2007Conder, Downey, Amartin, Visser4 talks
2009Mike Hendy"Modelling mutation rates from molecular pedigree data"
2010André Nies"Interactions of computability and randomness"
2011Charles Semple"Realizing phylogenies with local information"
2012Astrid an Huef"Algebraic systems of isometries"
2015Rick Beatson"Kernel based methods for fitting scattered data with applications"
2016Hinke Osinga"The art of computing global manifolds"

Colloquium - Butcher-Kalman Lecturer

2015Adam Day"Borel graph combinatorics"
2016Rachael Tappenden"It's a big (data) world"

See also:

Presidents of the Society

1974-1975David Vere-Jones
1975-1976John C Butcher
1976-1978Gordon M Petersen
1978-1979Graeme C Wake
1979-1980John C Turner
1980-1981W Dean Halford
1981-1982David B Gauld
1982-1983Jim H Ansell
1983-1984William Davidson
1984-1985Michael R Carter
1985-1987Ivan L Reilly
1987-1989Brian Woods
1989-1991Gillian Thornley
1991-1993Derek A Holton
1993-1995Marston D E Conder
1995-1997Douglas Bridges
1997-1999Rob I Goldblatt
1999-2001Graeme Wake
2001-2003Rod Downey
2003-2005Mick Roberts
2005-2007Gaven Martin
2007-2009Robert McLachlan
2009-2011Charles Semple
2011-2013Graham Weir
2013-2015Winston Sweatman
2015-2017Astrid an Huef