New Zealand Mathematical Society

Quick search:

Advanced search
  HOME  MEMBERSHIP  PUBLICATIONS  ACTIVITIES  OPPORTUNITIES  AWARDS  REGULATIONS  HISTORY  LINKS  

New Zealand Mathematical Society Education Group

The New Zealand Mathematical Society Education Group’s aim is to advocate for the enhancement of mathematics education in New Zealand through collaborative and constructive engagement with stake holders.

Focus Areas

The education group is currently considering two focus areas:

1. Liaison between education sectors

2. First Year in Mathematics Teaching (FYiMaths): improve outcomes for students in undergraduate mathematics courses by sharing and developing teaching practices and building connections between secondary schools and universities.

Working Towards a Vision of NZ Secondary School Mathematics for the 21st Century

With the upcoming 2018 NCEA Review and expected future assessment and curriculum reviews, the NZ Maths Society (NZMS) Education Group would like to develop a dialogue towards creating a shared vision of 21st century mathematics for NZ secondary schools. We would like your input.

Some questions we are considering:

Thank you for participating.

Upcoming Events

NZMS Colloquium at University of Otago, December 4-6, 2018

There will be a variety of education sessions on December 5.

Recent Events

NZ Association of Mathematics Teachers (NZAMT) 2017 in Christchurch

NZMS Panel: Preparing for the Future, Transition from High School to University: Debating Technology, Tuesday 3rd October, 3:45pm. With moderator Cami Sawyer, Massey University, convener of NZMS Education Group, and participants

  • Julia Novak, professional teaching fellow at the University of Auckland and the Associate Dean (Teaching and Learning) for the Faculty of Science
  • Stephen McConnachie, e-Learning Coordinator and Mathematics Teacher at Middleton Grange School, blogger and founder of the NZ Maths & Statistics ICT Community
  • Dan Meyer, Chief Academic Officer at Desmos where he explores the future of math textbooks, educational changer, well-known blogger (dy/dan)

FYiMaths workshop: Seeing the future: First Year Mathematics at University, the challenges faced by lecturers and students in an ever-changing landscape. Thursday 5th October, 10:40am

Executive Committee

The NZMS Education Group has a core Executive, listed below, as well as several members who contribute and stay in the loop.

Pip Arnold parnold@cognitioneducation.com
Peter Bier p.bier@auckland.ac.nz
David Bryant david.bryant@otago.ac.nz
Julia Crawford julia.crawford@auckland.ac.nz
Tanya Evans t.evans@auckland.ac.nz
Chris Linsell chris.linsell@otago.ac.nz
Sione Ma’u s.mau@auckland.ac.nz
Dillon Mayhew dillon.mayhew@vuw.ac.nz
Rua Murray rua.murray@canterbury.ac.nz
Julia Novak j.novak@auckland.ac.nz
Cami Sawyer c.sawyer@massey.ac.nz
Rachel Passmore r.passmore@auckland.ac.nz
 

Contact Us

The education group is eager to engage with the mathematical community.

To stay up-to-date with our activities, like us on facebook, or follow us on twitter, and sign up to our mailing list.

To become actively involved in the group or to make suggestions or comments, email NZMSed@gmail.com.