New Zealand Mathematical Society

Quick search:

Advanced search

Administration and Council

The general affairs of the NZ Mathematical Society are conducted by its Council, which consists of the President, one Vice-President, and seven elected members. Their terms of office are set out in the NZMS Constitution.

Elections take place along with other important business at the Annual General Meeting normally held near the end of each year, in conjunction with the New Zealand Mathematics Colloquium.

Council meetings are usually held just before the Annual General Meeting. Matters are also dealt with during the year by email correspondence.

Current NZMS Councillors

PresidentAssoc Prof Vivien KirkUniversity of Auckland2015-2020
Vice-PresidentProf Astrid an HuefVictoria University of Wellington2011-2018
SecretaryAssoc Prof Rua MurrayUniversity of Canterbury2014-2020
TreasurerProf Stephen MarslandVictoria University of Wellington2016-2019
Dr Florian BeyerUniversity of Otago2014-2020
Assoc Prof Shaun CooperMassey University (Auckland)2013-2019
Dr Emily HarveyM.E Research2013-2019
Prof Mark McGuinnessVictoria University of Wellington2012-2018
Emeritus Prof Kevin BroughanUniversity of Waikato2017-2020
Emma GreenbankStudent, Victoria University of Wellington2018-2019
Francis Leslie-EllisNZAMT2018-2020

Other Positions of Responsibility

Assoc Prof Bruce van BruntMassey University2011-2018
Membership SecretaryDr John ShanksUniversity of Otago
Newsletter EditorDr Miguel Moyers-GonzalezUniversity of Canterbury
Newsletter EditorDr Phil WilsonUniversity of Canterbury
Legal AdvisorDr Peter RenaudUniversity of Canterbury
ArchivistDr Peter DonelanVictoria University of Wellington
WebmasterAssoc Prof Boris BaeumerUniversity of Otago

See also:

Main contact:

New Zealand Mathematical Society
Assoc Prof Rua Murray
(NZMS Secretary)
School of Mathematics and Statistics
University of Canterbury
Private Bag 4800
Christchurch 8140