## 44th Annual General Meeting of the NZMS

University of Otago, 4th December 2018, SDAV1.

**Present:** Anna Barry, Alona Ben-Tal, Florian Beyer, Bruce van Brunt, David Bryant, Peter Donelan, Tanya Evans, Maire Graff, Catherine Hassell Sweatman, Joerg Hennig, Joshua Howie, Astrid an Huef, Alex James, Vivien Kirk (Chair), Igor Kontorovich, Bernd Krauskopf, Carlo Laing, Woei Chet Lim, Tammy Lynch, Rua Murray (minutes), Dion O'Neale, Michael Plank, Iain Raeburn, Dominic Searles, Cami Sawyer, Winston Sweatman, Melissa Tacy, Chris Tuffley, Geertrui Van de Voorde, Alna van der Werwe, Phil Wilson.

**Apologies:** Boris Baeumer, Kevin Broughan, John Butcher, Marston Conder, Shaun Cooper, David Gauld, Emily Harvey, Stephen Joe, Stephen Marsland, Mark McGuinness, Robert McKibben, Nicolette Rattenbury, Tom ter Elst, Rachael Tappenden, Graeme Wake.

Meeting opened: 5.01 pm.

- 1. Minutes of the 43rd Annual General Meeting were accepted. (Moved from Chair, passed.)
- 2. There were no matters arising.
- 3. President's report. The President began by thanking the Colloquium organising committee. The President highlighted the work of the Nominating Committee and the Prize Committee. She also highlighted the Council's work on diversity in the NZ Mathematics community, and drew attention to the newly approved Council statement on Women in Mathematics.

The President drew attention to a number of honours and awards achieved by members this year.

The President thanked outgoing Newsletter editors Phil Wilson and Miguel Moyers-Gonzalez, and welcomed Fabien Montiel to the role.

The President thanked outgoing Council members Mark McGuinness (6 years on Council) and Astrid an Huef (7 years on Council, including 4 years as Vicepresident and President) for their excellent service to and leadership of the Society.

- 4. Astrid an Huef updated the meeting about developments with the RSNZ Code of Conduct. This is now in second revision, and includes both general and specific standards. All members of the RSNZ must abide by this code. The NZMS is a Constituent Organisation of the RSNZ, and therefore a member.
- 5. The Treasurer's report was tabled, showing 2018 financial performance in line with budget, and setting a similar budget for 2019. A member queried the below-budget spending on student grants. The financial report was prepared prior to all 2018 grants being disbursed, so the final figure will be much closer to budget. The Treasurer's report was accepted. (Moved from Chair, passed.)

- 6. Appointment of auditors. The current auditor, Nirmala Nath from the School of Accountancy, Massey University, to be re-appointed as Auditor. (Moved from Chair, passed).
- 7. Membership Secretary's report. This was presented (as tabled) and accepted.

Following a question from a member, discussion occurred about whether membership should be both automatic and completely free for postgraduate students. Current arrangements to continue.

2018 fees to remain unchanged for 2019.

- 8. Election of councillors:
  - (a) Mark McGuinness has finished a second term on Council, and Astrid an Huef has completed her term as Outgoing President; the Society thanks them for their service.
  - (b) There was a single nomination for Incoming President: Shaun Hendy (Kirk/Murray). The meeting confirmed Shaun Hendy as Incoming President.
  - (c) There were 3 nominations for Council: Melissa Tacy (Raeburn/Beyer), Phil Wilson (McLeod/Moyers-Gonzalez), Nicholas Witte (van Brunt/Smith). Astrid an Huef and Chris Tuffley were apppointed returning officers, and an election was held by secret ballot. Ballots were taken outside the room for counting at 5.29pm. At 5.31pm, Melissa Tacy was declared elected to Council for a term of three years.
- 9. Forthcoming colloquia:

**2019** Massey University Manawatu will host in 2019.

2020/21/22 AUT will host in 2020. Canterbury and VUW to be considered for 2021,2022.

2023 Joint AMS/NZMS/AustMS meeting - Auckland to host; 4-8/12/23.

- 10. The report on NZ Journal of Mathematics was accepted by the meeting, and the retirement of Rob Goldblatt from the Journal Committee was noted.
- 11. The report from the NZMS Education Group was spoken to by Cami Sawyer. Cami highlighted the subcommittee's work on Secondary/Tertiary transition and submitting on the NCEA review. The report was accepted.
- 12. The Council has received a list of possible Forder lecturers for 2020, and will be consulting about preferences in the New Year.
- 13. There were no items of general business.

Meeting closed 5.35 pm.